Search This Blog

Friday 30 August 2013

EACPT Lifetime Achievement Awards presented in Geneva to Professor Sir Michael Rawlins and Professor Carlo Patrono

Today in Geneva, EACPT Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Professor Carlo Patrono and to Professor Sir Michael Rawlins for their outstanding contributions to the national and international benefits of clinical pharmacology for medicine, health care and patient safety.
Sir Michael Rawlins and Carlo Patrono

These Awards, including the EACPT silver medal, were presented at an Awards Ceremony the 11th EACPT Congress in Geneva, 28th - 31st August 2013 by EACPT co-founder Professor Folke Sjöqvist, and by Dr Marie Besson, co-leader of the 2011 EACPT Congress.

Carlo Patrono is Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at the Catholic University School of Medicine (UCSC) in Rome, Italy.  He is also the Chairman of the Task Force on Antiplatelet Agents of the European Society of Cardiology.

Prof. Patrono’s main research interest is in the study of platelet activation and inhibition in atherothrombosis. He pioneered development of radioimmunoassays for measuring prostanoid and isoprostane biosynthesis in health and disease. His research has characterized the human pharmacology of aspirin as an inhibitor of platelet COX-1 and provided the basis for the development of low-dose aspirin as an antithrombotic agent. During the past decade Prof. Patrono has contributed to characterizing the human pharmacology of COX-2 inhibitors and evaluating their cardiovascular effects in different clinical settings.
For development of low-dose aspirin for the prevention of cardiovascular disease, Professor Patrono was joint recipient with Garret FitzGerald in April 2013 from the Institut de France of the 500,000 euro 2013 Grand Prix Scientifique, the world’s most prestigious prize for cardiovascular research.  
He has also received the Alexander B. Gutman award from the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, the Distinguished Award in Neuroscience from the Louisiana State University, the 1998 International Aspirin® Award from Bayer AG, the 2007 John Vane Award from the William Harvey Research Institute of the University of London, and the 2011 Outstanding Achievement Award of the Eicosanoid Research Foundation. 

Professor Sir Michael Rawlins

Michael Rawlins was from 1999-2013 the first chairman of the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), and from 1998-2008, Chairman of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs. He was also Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne from 1973 – 2006) and from 1992-1998 Chairman of the UK Committee on the Safety of Medicines, which advised UK government ministers on marketing authorization for new pharmaceuticals, and on withdrawal of medicines in the event of safety concerns. He is currently President of the Royal Society of Medicine and Chairman of the UK Biobank.
As Chairman of NICE, he led one of the world’s most important healthcare organizations, which, based on clinical and cost-effectiveness, guides the National Health Service on whether medicines and other health technologies should be available to patients, and develops evidence-based clinical guidelines for health professionals. Many countries have studied the work of NICE and adopted its ideas and innovations.
Sir Michael’s outstanding scientific contributions have been recognised by the award of numerous honours and distinctions, including his appointment as Knight Bachelor in 1999 for “services to the improvement of patient protection from the side effects of medicinal drugs”. 

Jamie Coleman, Sir Michael Rawlins, Philip Routledge and Donald Singer

The EACPT was founded 20 years ago and now includes all national organisations for clinical pharmacology in Europe. The EACPT aims to provide educational and scientific support for the more than 4000 individual professionals interested in clinical pharmacology and therapeutics throughout the European region, with its congresses attended by a global audience. The EACPT also advises policy makers on how the specialty can contribute to human health and wealth.

Official EACPT journal: Clinical Therapeutics 

Future EACPT Congresses and Summer Schools
2014 - 11th EACPT Summer School - Nijmegen: 5-8 July
2015 - 12th EACPT Congress - Madrid
2017 - 13th EACPT Congress - Prague
2019 - 14th EACPT Congress - Stockholm  

No comments:

Post a Comment